Thursday, November 17, 2011

the scrolls...

Og Mandino composed The Legend Of The Ten Scrolls in his
book The Greatest Salesman in the World.... 

They are:

Scroll I - The Power of Good Habits
Scroll II - Greet Each Day With Love In Your Heart
Scroll III - Persist Until You Succeed
Scroll IV - You Are Natures Greatest Miracle
Scroll V - Live Each Day as if it Were Your Last
Scroll VI - Master Your Emotions
Scroll VII - The Power of Laughter
Scroll VIII - Multiply Your Value Every Day
Scroll IX - All is Worthless Without Action
Scroll X - Pray to God for Guidance

His primary message was to NOT procrastinate. 
In the marking of Scroll IX, "I will act now" is written 18 times. 
Even some of the texts did have Christian undertones 
(by referring to St.Paul as the greatest salesman in the world), 
it was still a message of repetitive actions to build good habits.

The Greatest Salesman in the World was (first) published in 1968 
(and re-issued in 1983 by Bantam). The 128-page book has become a guide 
to a philosophy of salesmanship, and success, telling the story of Hafid--- 
a poor camel boy who achieves a life of  goodness and abundance.

Then there is this sequel to this bestselling book (The End of Story)
published in 1988 and set back forty years later the first part; 
the main character Hafid  is in a sad state, mourning the loss of his wife, Lisha. 

The story starts years into Hafid’s seclusion, when a dream convinces him 
to see a stranger that turns up on his doorstep and pulls Hafid 
out of retirement to embarke on a new adventure: (a speaking tour) 
to enlighten others about the principles enclosed in The Ten Scrolls.

My dear boyman Wowa loved the books. He dreams of becoming a
great salesman too. Oh well, we can always dream and work for our
dreams right?

No comments: